Friday Night Lover

by fromfiretoashes

You thought you could be different

That perhaps you would get better with time

Filled yourself with this false hopes of adequacy

Recited all your prayers, all your lines

You poor pathetic creature

You will never feel the warmth of light

Your soul belongs to darkness

It is time to give up your sad little fight

I know you best through years of pain

How could you ever think you could be enough?

You may keep trying to be something more

But deep down you know you can never truly be loved

You are a fucking disgrace with no worth

Go ahead, dig your nails into a fist

It won’t stop the truth of my words

It won’t stop the thoughts of red wrists

I am the only one who will take you now

They are better off without you, don’t you see?

I will keep you safe and care for you

If you promise to stop trying to leave

You wandered so far from your place, my pet

It is time to climb back into this bed of dark blue

You were not meant to be with another in this world

Come, lie with me once more and escape into darker hues